To carry out a good marketing strategy, marketing metrics can be essential. They will show you where you are going wrong, where you are right, guide you to course correction, and reveal good opportunities. Now, you might be wondering, what are marketing metrics?
Well, marketing metrics represent the first step of any company that will start developing plans, actions, and strategies. They are indicators that help measure the success of a specific campaign or the entire marketing effort.
It is essential to know each of them and know how to use them in the best way to boost your brand. With such a competitive market today, the digital age, and the rapid and constant changes, digital marketing metrics will be your main tools for development and improvement.
The Importance Of Tracking Metrics
How to improve something if you don’t know which points need to be improved? That’s why tracking marketing metrics is essential to evolving your overall strategy. There is always a higher demand for something concrete within a company, and as a marketer, you would undoubtedly present more results if you could increase investments.
But that’s not quite how it works. You need to generate more traffic, engagement, and sales without increasing spending. We can say that it is the famous “doing more with less.” And to get more results, you need to know where to improve and understand where to improve; you use digital marketing metrics.
Most Important Marketing Metrics
To better understand, we created a list to explain digital marketing metrics. All can (and should) be part of your marketing strategy. Check out:
Return On Investment (ROI)
The first of the marketing metrics on the list is already the most important in any business. We can even say that it is the number one metric since it deals directly with profit. It is essential to know the return generated by certain processes in marketing, such as a specific ad campaign or even the entire strategy.
In addition, this metric shows when (and if) you should scale your investment. If the ROI remains positive, it means that the company, if it has production capacity left, can increase investments in digital marketing.
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)
Another crucial point to taking control of your business is knowing how much each new customer costs. CAC serves to understand how much the company spends on winning a consumer, whether for a service or product. At this point, it is essential to include all costs involved, such as media investments, sales, staff salaries, etc.
So, to calculate Customer Acquisition Cost, you must add up all marketing and sales expenses during a given period and compare it to the number of new customers who joined. CAC = Expenses + investments in marketing and sales / Number of new customers in a period.
The average ticket is a metric that shows the amount each customer spends on the organization’s services or products. If you notice that the intermediate key is too low, you can implement strategies to increase it, such as upselling and cross-selling.
The best thing to do is find the average monthly ticket (average total amount spent by each customer per month). You can use the metric to account for other essential metrics. Average monthly ticket = Revenue for the month / Number of customers.
Customer Lifetime Value (Lifetime Value Or LTV)
To understand this metric, let’s go back a bit. Imagine that you have found the CAC, which we saw earlier. This value alone will never be too high or too low; it is essential to put it in context to know if the customer is generating a return. For those who work with products or specific services, it is easier to compare since it is enough to look at the average ticket, which must naturally be greater than the cost to close the sale.
On the other hand, recurring service companies (subscriptions or contracts) often find obstacles in knowing if their client is generating a profit. This is where LTV comes in, which allows you to identify the profit potential of each consumer, being able to have a preview of income. LTV = Average monthly ticket x Average retention time for each customer.
Click-Through Rate (Click-through-rate Or CTR)
The click-through rate is what will represents how effective an ad is. With CTR, you will be able to evaluate the different aspects of an ad or campaign, such as targeting, keywords, images, and texts. So you can use this metric as a starting point to improve a campaign. CTR (%) = (Number of ad clicks / Number of impressions) x 100.
Cost Per Lead (CPL)
Today, companies already understand the need to cultivate a relationship between company and consumer. In this sense, knowing the cost per lead is essential. If the CPL is high, it is necessary that the conversions from leads to customers are excellent or that the average ticket per customer remains even higher. So the lower the CPL, the better.
A conversion is a step a visitor takes towards becoming a customer. This step can be subscribing to your newsletter, signing up for a promotion, downloading an e-book, using a trial version of your product, or becoming a real customer. Therefore, a low number of conversions can have many causes, from a site with a low quality of user experience to a lack of calls to action (CTAs). The conversion rate is the ratio of the number of visits to a page to the number of visitors who took the desired action.
This metric is simple, but it gives you a good idea of the reach your business has on the internet. You know how many people access your content daily through visits to your website. In addition, you can analyze individual visits to find out which are the most visited pages on your website or blog.
Time Spent On The Site
And at the bottom of our list of marketing metrics is the time a visitor spends on your site when they land on it. When content is engaging, people spend more time browsing through it. This metric shows, in minutes, the average time each visitor spends on your site. Knowing these numbers, you can determine and correct any potential issues affecting your visitors or preventing them from spending more time on the page.